Marvin Gaye Classic Albums Timeline

listen to my version of 'What's Going On'
June 1961

The Soulful Moods of Marvin Gaye

Debut studio album by Marvin Gaye

  1. Masquerade
  2. Funny Valentine
  3. Witchcraft
  4. Easy Living
  5. How Deep Is the Ocean
  6. Love for Sale
  7. Always
  8. How High the Moon
  9. Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide
  10. Never Let You Go
  11. You Don't Know What Love Is
    September 1962

    That Stubborn Kinda Fellow

    Contains hits like 'Stubborn Kind of Fellow' and 'Hitch Hike'

    1. Stubborn Kind of Fellow
    2. Pride and Joy
    3. Hitch Hike
    4. Get My Hands on Some Lovin'
    5. Wherever I Lay My Hat
      April 1964

      When I'm Alone I Cry

      Album featuring jazz standards

      1. You've Changed
      2. I Was Telling Her About You
      3. I Wonder
      4. I'll Be Around
      5. Because of You
      6. I Don't Know Why
      7. I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face
      8. When Your Lover Has Gone
      9. When I'm Alone I Cry
      10. If My Heart Could Sing
        May 1966

        Moods of Marvin Gaye

        Featuring hits like 'I'll Be Doggone' and 'Ain't That Peculiar'

        1. I'll Be Doggone
        2. Ain't That Peculiar
        3. Take This Heart of Mine
        4. Just for You
          August 1968

          In the Groove

          Later reissued as 'I Heard It Through the Grapevine'; contains the hit title track

          1. You
          2. Tear It on Down
          3. Chained
          4. I Heard It Through the Grapevine
          5. At Last (I Found a Love)
          6. Some Kind of Wonderful
            January 1970

            That's the Way Love Is

            Features cover versions of hit singles from the Motown catalog

            1. Gonna Give Her All The Love I've Got
            2. Yesterday
            3. Groovin'
            4. I Wish It Would Rain
              May 1971

              What's Going On

              A concept album with a strong social message

              1. What's Going On
              2. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)
              3. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)
                August 1973

                Let's Get It On

                One of his most famous albums, noted for its sexual themes

                1. Let's Get It On
                2. Come Get to This
                3. Distant Lover
                4. You Sure Love to Ball
                  March 1976

                  I Want You

                  A deeply personal album noted for its lush production and romantic content

                  1. I Want You
                  2. Come Live with Me Angel
                  3. After the Dance
                  4. Feel All My Love Inside
                    December 1978

                    Here, My Dear

                    Inspired by the fallout from Gaye's first marriage; noted for its introspective lyrics

                    1. Here, My Dear
                    2. I Met a Little Girl
                    3. When Did You Stop Loving Me, When Did I Stop Loving You
                    4. Anger
                      January 1981

                      In Our Lifetime

                      The last album released by Gaye on Motown before his death

                      1. Praise
                      2. Life Is for Learning
                      3. Love Party
                      4. Funk Me
                        October 1982

                        Midnight Love

                        Known for containing the hit 'Sexual Healing'

                        1. Sexual Healing
                        2. Rockin' After Midnight
                        3. Til Tomorrow
                        4. Turn On Some Music

                          SEE ALSO Marvin Gaye

                          spotted some data not accurate? please contact